Falling in Love (with) a Coffee Shop

I recently realized that I don’t feel like I make enough of my time in New York. Sure, every once and a while I’ll go out to dinner or a well known touristy location, but never do I really explore everything that the city has to offer. So, today I took a little trip. To Harlem. Did I mean to come to Harlem? Nope. Am I mad about it? Not even a little.

On this beautiful 60 degree day, I am writing outside in the courtyard of the most hole in the wall place I have ever been: The Chipped Cup coffee shop. And honestly, I love it. The courtyard is set up like your grandmothers old backyard: antique metal chairs, white wooden folding tables, and plants galore. The two girls sitting next to me are talking a little louder than I would like them to about “chasing their dreams as Broadway stars”, but other than that, things are exactly as they should be.

And the inside is just as cute. An old fashioned couch, old wooden tables and vintage Victorian Woman print wallpaper. They even serve your food on antique china! It’s not super ideal that I had to come all the way to Harlem to enjoy this wonderful place, but sometimes you have to step out of your comfort zone to find the things you need (I think that applies to every aspect of life as well.)

I’m a huge proponent of taking time to yourself, especially in college when you’re constantly surrounded by people. It can be hard to never be alone, which is why you need to take things into your own hands and find a place where you can finally hear yourself think. Today is my me day and I’ve never been happier.


Leave a comment